Clonakilty Town Twinning Association was established in March 1985 under the auspices of Clonakilty Urban District Council (later Clonakilty Town Council) to deal with all matters in relation to town twinning.
Mr. Jim O'Keefe and Mr. Michael Kenneally were the first Chairperson and Secretary respectively and Clonakilty twinned with Chateaulin, France in 1986. A number of schools and third level educational institutions exchanged in subsequent years.
In 1989 Clonakilty twinned with Waldaschaff in Bavaria, Germany.

The twinning with Waldaschaff had it's roots in the strong friendship between Clonakilty's St. Patrick's Brass Band and Musikverein Waldaschaff since 1982.
In 2019 the 30th Anniversary of probably the most successful twinning between any towns in Europe was celebrated in Waldaschaff with the visit of a 38 strong delegation from Clonakilty.

March 1985 to January 1988 Jim O'Keefe
January 1988 to February 1994 Danny Lordan
Feb. 1994 to March 1997 Brawney Wycherley R.I.P.
March 1997 to May, 1998 Danny Lordan
May, 1998 to June , 2006 Jim Allis R.I.P
February, 2007 to June, 2008 Con O'Neill
June, 2008 to November 2010 Dell McCarthy
November 2010 to November 2011 Michael O'Regan
November 2011 to November 2013 Michael Kenneally
November 2013 to Jan 2018 Michael Kenneally & Pauline Lowney
January 2018 to 3rd September 2019 Michael Kenneally
3rd September 2019 J.J. Walsh